You are here

Vol. 1: Blue Midnight

Error message

Deprecated function: Required parameter $form_state follows optional parameter $input in include_once() (line 1439 of /homepages/35/d447028832/htdocs/sites/music/prod/includes/
  1. Treat For Trumpets
  2. Good Night Sweet Dreams
  3. L-O-V-E
  4. Blue Midnight
  5. Love Comes, But Once
  6. Cotton Candy
  7. Free As A Bird
  8. Lonely Nightingale
  9. Almost There (From ´I´d Rather Be Rich´)
  10. Java
  11. Red Roses For A Blue Lady
  12. Three O´Clock In The Morning (Las Tres de la Manana)
  13. Take Seven (Version 2) (Fast)
  14. Gemma
  15. The Bass Walks
  16. Love After Midnight (90 Minuten nach Mitternacht) Version 2
About this album: 

Polydor version of Blue Midnight with 4 bonus tracks: Take Seven, Gemma, The Bass Walks and Love After Midnight.

Sound Engineer: Peter Klemt
Concept & Text: Bert Kaempfert Music, Hamburg
Translation: Angela Schumacher

Compact Disc availability: 

Polydor 533 907-2 (deleted)

Liner Notes: 


Bert Kaempfert's great breakthrough came in 1960 with his No. 1 hit in the USA, Wonderland By Night, which went on to conquer the world. He was the first German bandleader to be awarded a gold record in the USA. DJs in the American music magazine Cash Box voted his orchestra "Band of the Future."

In 1968 Bert Kaempfert won no less than five of the annual BMI awards in New York in the category of "most played compositions" for Lady, Spanish Eyes, Strangers In The Night, Sweet Maria and The World We Knew.

In 1974 "Mr. Invisible" received triumphant applause at his first two live concerts in London's Royal Albert Hall. At the early age of 56, Bert Kaempfert died of a stroke on 21 June 1980. That his music and compositions have a firm place in international music life is emphasized by numerous posthumous awards. In June 1993 he was elected to "The Songwriters' Hall of Fame" in New York - the first German to receive this most prestigious of all international awards.

Blue Midnight

Bert Kaempfert fans will be delighted that the album BLUE MIDNIGHT is now available on CD to further their collection. This recording (with the works in a slightly different order) was released on 2 November 1964 in the USA, landed in the charts on 23 January 1965 and soon climbed to number 5. When released as singles, Red Roses For A Blue Lady reached number 3 and Three O'Clock In The Morning number 10. Bert Kaempfert's composition L.O.V.E., which in its vocal version was to be Nat "King" Cole's legendary final hit, became one of his greatest international successes and has long achieved "evergreen" status.

Old favorites and brilliant own compositions were subject to Bert Kaempfert's genial orchestration for this album. The trumpet solos, performed by Manfred Moch, have long become a hallmark of Kaempfert's unique sound.

Relax and enjoy the album BLUE MIDNIGHT and the four gems which have been added to this CD as a bonus: Take Seven, recorded in 1966 (which in its present version was only released on the LP HOLD ME), and Gemma, The Bass Walks and Love After Midnight (from the German film "90 Minuten nach Mitternacht") - three often wished-for numbers from the LP LET'S GO BOWLING recorded in 1964.

Bert Kaempfert's circle of fans is sure to increase considerably with this CD, for who can fail to be spellbound by his timeless sound which imparts a real feeling of the Good Life!